| Wayde van Niekerk, Chad le Clos to steer SA medal cost at Tokyo Olympics


The South African Sports activities Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) on Thursday introduced nearly all of the Group South Africa squad that shall be taking part in subsequent month’s Tokyo Olympics in Japan.

Throughout a stay tv announcement on SABC, representatives throughout 10 codes had been named – athletics, biking, rowing, crusing, sevens rugby, skateboarding, browsing, swimming, triathlon and waterpolo.

400m Rio Olympic gold medallist Wayde van Niekerk was added to the athletes squad and together with Present Leotlela 

Olympic star Chad le Clos, who gained two silvers on the 2016 Rio Video games, and new swimming sensation Tatjana Schoenmaker lead the aquatic crew.

SA bicycle owner Stefan De Bod was added to the biking crew as a substitute for Daryl Impey, who withdrew as a consequence of damage.

Sascoc additionally revealed that SA tennis star Lloyd Harris had been chosen to go to Tokyo, however withdrew citing a tough schedule and fatigue from the Covid-19 bio-bubbles. 

A 17-man preliminary Rugby Sevens squad was introduced with coach Neil Powell anticipated to call the travelling squad of 14 (12 gamers and two reserve gamers) every week earlier than they depart for Tokyo on 12 July.

The qualification course of remains to be ongoing for some sports activities and can finish on Tuesday, 29 June 2021. Extra names shall be launched after that date.

Two-time Olympic gold medallist Caster Semenya was the notable omission from the facet after the 800m star did not qualify within the 5 000m.

Semenya was barred from competing in her favorite occasion as a consequence of World Athletics rules on testosterone ranges.

Group SA have began to roll out vaccines with 400 vaccinated within the delegation which were accredited for the Video games.

South Africa will ship a sophisticated crew on 10 July to make sure that all is put in place earlier than the primary group of athletes arrive on 13 July.

On the final Olympic Video games in Rio de Janeiro, Group SA introduced again house 10 medals (two gold, six silver and two bronze).

The Tokyo Olympics is scheduled to run below a strict bio-secure bubble from 23 July to eight August.

The SA Tokyo Olympic contingent (as of 24 June):



Tatjana Schoenmaker, Kaylene Corbett, Emma Chelius, Erin Gallagher, Ethan du Preez, Chad le Clos, Pieter Coetze, Bradley Tandy, Michael Houlie, Matthew Sates, Ladies’s 4x100m medley relay (Mariella Venter, Tatjana Schoenmaker, Erin Gallagher, Aimee Canny) 

Creative Swimming

Laura Strugnell, Clarissa Johnston


Akani Simbine, Wayde van Niekerk, Clarence Munyai, Antonio Alkana, Present Leotlela, Cheswill Johnson, Ruswahl Samaai, Rocco van Rooyen, Marc Mundell, Jason Van Rooyen, Stephen Mokoka, Kyle Blignaut, Desmond Mokgobu, Elroy Gelant, Wayne Snyman, Wenda Nel, Dominique Scott, Gerda Steyn and Irvette Van Zyl, Shaun Maswanganyi


Erin Sterkenburg and Chris Cosser


Johan Spies, Charlene Du Preez, David Maree, Daryl Impey, Ryan Gibbons, Nicholas Dlamini, Ashleigh Pasio-Moolman, Carla Oberholzer, Alan Hatherly, Candice Lill and Alex Limberg, Stefan De Bod


Caitlin Rooskrantz

Ladies’s area hockey

Quanita Bobbs, Erin Christie, Lisa Deetlefs, Lilian Du Plessis, Nicole Erasmus, Tarryn Glasby, Robyn Johnson, Charne Maddocks, Lerato Mahole, Phumelela Mbande, Edith Molikoe, Kristen Paton, Tarryn Potts, Celia Seerane, Nomnikelo Veto and Onthatile Zulu.

Males’s area hockey

Erasmus Pieterse, Timothy Drummond, Austin Smith, Mohamed Mea, Matthew GuiseBrown, Jethro Eustice, Nduduzo Lembethe, Taine Paton, Nicholas Spooner, Clinton Panther, Samkelo Mvimbi, Abdul Cassiem, Mustapha Cassiem, Nqobile Ntuli, Keenan Horne and Tevin Kok.


Lawrence Brittain, John Smith, Sandro Torrento, Kyle Schoonbee, Jake Inexperienced, Luc Daffarn 

Rugby Sevens (preliminary squad)

Sakoyisa Makata, Dylan Sage, Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Angelo Davids, JC Pretorius, Branco du Preez, Selvyn Davids, Justin Geduld, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Stedman Gans, Ronald Brown, Chris Dry, Ruhan Nel, Muller du Plessis, Lubabalo Dobela 


Alex Burger, Benjamin Daniel, Leo Davis


Melissa Williams, Andrew Oberholzer, Boipelo Awuah, Brandon Valjalo


Bianca Buitendag, Jordan Smith


Henri Schoeman, Richard Murray, Gillian Sanders, Simone Ackermann

Ladies’s Waterpolo

Amica Hallenndorff, Shakira January, Meghan Maartens, Chloe Meecham, Georgie Moir, Boati Motau, Hannah Muller, Daniela Passoni, Megan Sileno, Ashleigh Vaughn, Jordan Wedderburn, Kelsey White. Reserve: Yanah Gerber 

Males’s Waterpolo

Ignardus Badenhorst, Devon Card, Jason Evezard, Cameron Laurenson, Lwazi Madi, Farouk Mayman, Yaseen Margro, Liam Neill, Roarke Olver, Nicholas Rodda, Donn Stewart, Ross Stone, Gareth Could