| Error-ridden, ill-disciplined Springboks duly punished by Cooper-inspired Wallabies


An after-the-hooter penalty from Quade Cooper noticed the Wallabies declare a 28-26 win over the world champion Springboks on the Gold Coast on Sunday. 

Cooper, returning to the Australian No 10 jersey for the primary time in additional than 4 years, was flawless on the day as he kicked seven penalties and a conversion. 

AS IT HAPPENED | Wallabies 28-26 Springboks

The Springboks, in the meantime, have been nowhere close to their greatest, brief on execution for giant components of this Rugby Championship conflict.

They scored three tries to 1 from their hosts – all via the rolling maul – and regarded to have rescued the match till Cooper’s last-gasp winner. 

It’s typically mentioned in elite sport {that a} signal of a championship successful facet is a capability to win even when taking part in poorly, and that was not the case right here.

Error-ridden, ill-disciplined and nowhere close to the scientific requirements that made them 2019 World Cup winners and, extra lately, British & Irish Lions sequence winners, the Boks have been poor, they usually have been punished.  

There have been yellow playing cards for Siya Kolisi and Willie le Roux.

The consequence leaves South Africa second on the Rugby Championship log with 10 factors – 5 behind leaders New Zealand (15) on the half-way stage.

After each side engaged in an unsurprising kicking alternate within the early phases, Handre Pollard and the returning Cooper exchanged two penalties every for the scores to be locked at 6-6 after 13 minutes. 

The Boks, via Faf de Klerk, Pollard and Le Roux, kicked closely, however some good physique positioning from the Wallabies meant that the guests have been struggling to get contenders into the air to problem for field kicks. 

The momentum changer within the first half, although, got here on 16 minutes when Bok skipper Kolisi was yellow-carded for a harmful tip-tackle on Wallabies fullback Tom Banks. 

There was no controversy surrounding the choice and, if something, Kolisi was fortunate to flee pink, however from the ensuing lineout and towards 14 males, Australia launched an assault that noticed an excellent move from Samu Kerevi launch Andrew Kelleway down the appropriate. 

The No 14 wing minimize inside and scored his facet’s opening attempt, with Cooper including the extras to provide the Wallabies a 13-6 lead. 

The Boks weathered the storm till Kolisi got here again on, and their greatest part of play got here once they have been camped on the Australian line with rolling maul after rolling maul being illegally defended. 

There was an embarrassing second for centre Lukhanyo Am, who dropped the ball over the attempt line after gathering a De Klerk attacking stab when a attempt regarded a certainty. 

Fortuitously for Am, the Boks scored quickly after that when Aussie lock Matt Philip was yellow-carded. From the ensuing maul, the Boks barged over the place Bongi Mbonambi dotted down.

Pollard, although, missed the conversion – his second miss of the evening – and the Boks have been nonetheless 13-11 down.  

Cooper then stretched the result in 16-11 after the Boks have been caught off-sides earlier than, on the stroke of half-time, the Wallabies scrum bulldozed the Boks on their very own 5m line in a second that despatched an enormous assertion. 

Copper chipped over the kick, the Wallabies have been 19-11 up on the break and the world champions have been left with all of it to do in 40 minutes.

The Springboks wanted to start out the second half brightly, they usually received a scrum penalty on 42 minutes just for Pollard to crack a routine penalty try straight into the upright.

He made amends quickly after, although, when he knocked over his third penalty of the evening after the Boks had received a penalty on the bottom following one other dominant maul. 

The Boks couldn’t get something going for sustained durations, although, and when Le Roux was yellow carded on 52 minutes for a deliberate knock-down with the Wallabies on assault, the Boks have been right down to 14 males for the second time within the contest. 

Cooper kicked his fifth penalty, and the Wallabies had their eight-point lead restored at 22-14 and the Boks have been on the ropes. 

When Wallabies hooker Folau Faingaa was sin-binned for a no-arms hit on Ox Nche, although, the Boks had their window to get again into the match. 

It was the rolling maul, once more, that paid dividends as Malcolm Marx scored South Africa’s second and when Pollard curled his conversion from the left touchline via the uprights, the Boks have been simply 22-21 down with 20 to play. 

Jasper Wiese then gave away a mindless penalty that was punished by Cooper from 40m out – the Wallabies playmaker touchdown his seventh profitable kick of the evening.  

The one factor that was working for the Boks, although, was the rolling maul and after one other sustained interval of lineout assault, the guests landed their third attempt of the evening to go forward 26-25 as Damian Willemse missed the conversion. 

With simply seconds remaining, the Wallabies have been awarded a scrum penalty 40m out.

Cooper, who was flawless on the evening, stepped up when it mattered most, slotting the kick and the boys from ‘Down Beneath’ celebrated like they’d received their very own World Cup.

The Springboks missed 10 factors on the evening via misses kicks, with Pollard lacking three makes an attempt and Willemse one. 


SA 26 (11)

Tries: Bongi Mbonambi, Malcolm Marx (2)

Penalties: Handre Pollard (3)

Conversion: Handre Pollard 

Australia 28 (19)

Strive: Andrew Kellaway

Conversion: Quade Cooper

Penalties: Cooper (7)



15 Willie le Roux, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Marco van Staden, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse


15 Tom Banks, 14 Andrew Kellaway, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Angus Bell

Substitutes: 16 Feleti Kaitu’u, 17 James Slipper, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Rob Leota, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Nic White, 22 Reece Hodge, 23 Jordan Petaia